Slower than Chris Dingman watching L’Avventura in a vat of molasses.

48. Andrei Rublev (Andrei Tarkovsky, 1966)

Tarkovsky‘s movies makes Antonioni‘s movies seem like “Crank“. In other words, Tarkovsky likes to take his time.

This is one of those films I was absolutely dreading. It’s 3 hours long, and Tarkovsky’s reputation preceded him. But as is usually the case when I am absolutely dreading a film, it actually ended up quite good.

I don’t really know how to explain the film, structurally it’s completely linear divided up in to 7 parts. It’s designed as an autobiography of Andrei Rublev, a 14th century Russian artist, although it’s not really accurate(at least according to the wikipedia page). But Rublev isn’t really the focus of the movie, it’s more like he is there in order for Tarkovsky to have a reason to show the turmoil of 14th century Russia(at least according to wikipedia).

The film does a great job of creating and evoking the middle ages (or at least how I imagine them). It just looks primitive.

And I just purchased the Criterion DVD on Ebay as I type this. God bless cheap buy it now listings.

The poster is pretty solid too, I don’t know if it’s the original theatrical one, but Rublev looks ‘hood in it, so I am down.

On filmaffinity.com I gave the film 8/10. I think it could go higher with a rewatching, as with any 3 hour film there is a lot going on.

Leave a Reply

