Brigitte Bardot’s ass is next to Godliness.

45. Contempt (Jean-Luc Godard, 1963)

Now this is a poster. The French sure don’t screw around. Great font, good color, unique artwork. This is something I would be proud to have in my house.

This is a great film, the I didn’t enjoy while watching it, but it lingered with me, and the more I thought about it, the more I realized it was damn good. I felt the same way about Rashomon.

I think what I didn’t like about the film while viewing it was how talky and philosophical it was. It tricks you into thinking it’s about movie making but then it swerves with a ton of dialogue about life. So I kept waiting for resolution of the plot, when the plot was really secondary to the interactions of the characters. I also didn’t understand why Brigitte Bardot‘s Camille all of a sudden turns so hateful towards her husband. He seems like a decent dude, and her turn towards bitchiness came out of nowhere.

I am not even sure I understand any of this at all now, but the presence of Fritz Lang dropping knowledge, Jack Palance freaking out multiple, and Brigitte Bardot’s bare ass is certainly enough to compensate for my lack of understanding.

Plus the movie looks astonishing. It was filmed in the Mediterranean so there is these amazing shots of the sea, and every shot is so brightly lit, it melts the heart, it’s pretty much the most beautiful summer day you’ve ever experienced. Plus it’s shot in that gorgeous 60’s Technicolor.

Oh and it’s going to be one of the first wave of titles released by Criterion on Blu-Ray. I read on a message board where someone described how this film on Blu-Ray will be like seeing the face of God. One can only hope. This might be the reason I get a Blu-Ray player.

On filmaffinity.com I gave the film 8/10. It’s definitely something I want to revisit, and try and make sense of.

One response to “Brigitte Bardot’s ass is next to Godliness.

  1. I like this review, however that is an American poster for the Godard’s 60’s exhibition in NY.

Leave a Reply

