Jesus loves me this I know…

37. Ordet (Carl Dreyer, 1955)

This is one of those what-the-fuck movies(well if you believe in God and all).

I used to be quite religious, a virtuous and angelic Evangelical Christian.

Life has taught me that such an approach has distinct limitations, and given my personality and taste prior to my conversion, there was simply too much I found inhibiting. I have never felt comfortable with the bible’s stance on sexuality, or on rebellion. I admittedly admire the character of Christ very deeply, but aside from the occasional cool story(namely Jacob wrestling with God), I have never felt wholly secure in my belief.

It’s probably the punk in me but I have always admired people who were both gay(or bisexual) and rebellious(ie Lou Reed, Michael Stipe and Madonna), and I never felt I could reconcile my feelings with my belief in Christ(or God, or Christianity or whatever).

I think I am at the point where I am humble enough to admit that I have no fucking idea about how the universe works. I can only say with certainty, that any system that doesn’t involve stabbing, shooting or rape is valid on some level. Christ is a compelling figure, and at some point I would like to be more like him, but not out of my belief and my desire for salvation, but rather because the love and compassion Christ showed made the world a better place, and at some I hope to do the same.

As for “Ordet“, it’s basically about a crazy dude who thinks he’s Jesus, and in the end he raises the dead. I have no idea what to make of it. So I will simply quote one the greatest rap songs in history by the once amazing Outkast: “faith is what you make it, that’s the hardest shit since MC Ren“. In other words, belief and faith are deeply personal experiences that can’t be truthfully explained or rectified within the context of any church, belief system, or orthodoxy(if I use the word orthodoxy I sound intellectual, so there), so why get bound up in trying to explain shit(especially in conventional terms).

On filmaffinity.com I gave the film 9/10, a simply great film for those who have any interest in God, or life in general.

One response to “Jesus loves me this I know…

  1. Pingback: I liked Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey better. « Justin Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

