Seymour, do you want me to tell you when it’s 7:30?

30. Psycho (Alfred Hitchcock, 1960)

Probably along with “Citizen Kane” the film that’s referenced the most on “The Simpsons“.

Here is the proof (thanks to the Alfred Hitchcock Wiki, which did all the work for me):

From The Black Widower

From Brother From The Same Planet

From Cape Feare

From Itchy and Scratchy and Marge

From Marge in Chains

From Treehouse of Horror IV

Plus you have Seymour Skinner being modeled after Norman Bates.

There are two things I love about trying to finish “The List“:

1. Watching films I never would have watched in a million years and enjoying them.

2. Getting all the Simpsons references.

On filmaffinity.com I gave the film an 8/10. It’s quite good, but I don’t like it as much as some other Hitchcock movies, of which the highest is a 9/10, so I gave this an 8 to make a distinction. And the poster is disappointing compared to other Hitchcock films.

Leave a Reply

