I don’t want to grow up, I’m a Toys R Us kid.

23. The Third Man (Carol Reed, 1949)

Up until like 2 days ago, I thought Carol Reed was a girl. He is not.

My dad told me that people used to tell him he looked like Joseph Cotten. So now that’s all I can think of when I see Joseph Cotten.

I like when I my dad tells me that kind of thing. It reminds that he was once young like me.  It’s a nice reminder that who he is now is not necessarily what he once was. He used to be young and idealistic and adventurous, traveling the world by ship, and marching in union rallies, and working for various left wing organizations. Hell he was even deported for protesting a nuclear site.

And it’s not that I am lamenting his loss of idealism, he didn’t go from being a commie to a fascist or anything. He still votes NDP, and believes health care is a right and not a privilege. It’s simply that he is old and cynical now, and I am quite simply afraid that I will one day be those things to.

On filmaffinity.com I rated the film a 9/10. Great setting in post-war Europe, great atmosphere, Joe Cotten being awesome, Orson Welles being non-fat, and tremendous final scene. Just good stuff all-around.

Leave a Reply

