I’m the Wiz!

13. Lawrence of Arabia (David Lean, 1962)

I was really hyped to watch this film, as much as anything on the list. I mean it’s a classic with billions of Oscars. I remember always hearing people talk about watching it like it was a notch in the belt, that they were better having seen it. Forget Citizen Kane, this was the one people held in reverence when I was younger. Plus it has the awesomeness Alec Guinness and Omar Sharif (actually I am kidding about Omar Sharif). An entire generation of movie-goers can’t be wrong can they?

I am afraid they can be. This movie stunk. Long, boring, no character development. There was some gun fights, umm and some sand, actually lots of sand. Oh yeah, there were camels too. It was one of those films where you keep waiting for some reason to care, some means by which to invest yourself, and yet that reason never comes. I really tried to like it, and it just didn’t happen for me. I read reviews post-viewing and still nothing clicked. Why the hell is this movie rated so highly?

Basically all it’s got going for it is that it’s shot in widescreen. I have read some reviews that insist this film must be viewed in a theatre, and that the experience is life-changing. Oh and some people gush over Peter O’Toole’s beautiful eyes, which to quote a character from my favorite Canadian melodrama are “as blue as swimming pools”, but I am more partial to this guy‘s hypnotic stare.

So if you want to spending 227 minutes looking at sand in beautiful widescreen, whilst drooling over Peter O’Toole’s eyes, this is the movie for you. Otherwise stay the hell away.

On filmaffinity.com I gave this film a 4/10 for all the reasons stated above. It’s the lowest ranked out the top 100, and as of now the lowest ranked of the 440+ films I have watched on the list.

It’s a shame that such a boring movie has such a ballin’ poster.

Leave a Reply

